Hot Post


Nigeria's Squad Unveiled for 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers Against South Africa and Benin

In anticipation of the crucial 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against South Africa's Bafana Bafana and the Cheetahs of Benin Republic, Nigeria's Head Coach, Finidi George, has unveiled a formidable squad of 23 players.

Star Players Leading the Charge

Leading the pack are the dynamic trio of Ademola Lookman, Victor Osimhen, and Stanley Nwabali, who have been instrumental in recent victories. Lookman's dazzling form, alongside Osimhen's striking prowess and Nwabali's safe hands, promise to bolster Nigeria's chances on the field.

Inclusion of Emerging Talent

Coach George has also demonstrated faith in emerging talents, with the inclusion of defender Benjamin Tanimu, midfielder Alhassan Yusuf, and midfielder Nathan Tella, among others. Their presence adds depth and versatility to the squad, ensuring a balanced lineup for the upcoming battles.

Debutants and Returning Faces

Excitement brews as debutants such as Remo Stars' Sadiq Ismael and Turkey-based midfielder Fisayo Bashiru earn their maiden call-ups to the national team. Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye also makes his return to the team. Their inclusion reflects Coach George's commitment to scouting and nurturing fresh talent.

Strategic Selections

The squad's composition underscores a strategic blend of experience and youth, with seasoned campaigners like Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, and Kelechi Iheanacho providing leadership and guidance to the younger players.

Fixture Details

Nigeria's campaign kicks off with a showdown against South Africa at the iconic Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo, on Friday, 7th June at 8:00PM Nigeria Time, followed by a clash against Benin Republic at the Stade Felix Houphouet-Boigny in Abidjan on Monday, 10th June at 5:00PM Nigeria Time.

Final Roster:

Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabali (Chippa United, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Udinese FC, Italy); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC)
Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Sadiq Ismael (Remo Stars FC); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Benjamin Tanimu (Ihefu SC, Tanzania)
Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Alhassan Yusuf Abdullahi (Royal Antwerp FC, Belgium); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England); Fisayo Dele-Bashiru (Hatayspor, Turkey)
Forwards: Nathan Tella (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France)

With anticipation mounting and expectations high, Nigeria's Super Eagles are primed to soar to victory as they embark on their quest for World Cup glory.

Post a Comment