Barcelona Crisis: Six Board Members Resign

Six board member of Barcelona have resigned from their positions in protest of how the club is presently being managed and call for the club president Josep Maria Bartomeu to hold election.

In a collective letter submitted with notary, they revealed their inability to reverse the way the club is currently being managed by president Bartomeu and also express concern over the financial impact of Coronavirus Pandemic on the club.

Also unhappy about how the social media scandal which led to the attack of their players on social media in February was handled.

According to their joint letter, "We have arrived at this point because we cannot reverse the way the club is managed in the face of important challenges in the future, especially in the post-pandemic era.

"We also want to show our displeasure over the unfortunate episode about the social media accounts, known as 'Barcagate', which we learn about through the press.

As our last act of service to the club, we recommend that elections are called as soon as circumstances permit so that the club can be managed in the best way possible and deal with the important challenges of the immediate future," the six who resigned said in their letter.

Part of the board members that resigned include two vice-presidents and the man president Bartomeu tipped to be his successor.

Names of the Board Members that Resigned are;
• Emili Rousaud - Vice-president
• Enrique Tombas - Vice-president
• Silvio Elias - Director
• Josep Pont - Director
• Jordi Calsamiglia - Director
• Maria Teixidor - Director

Amid COVID-19 pandemic, players will take 70 per cent pay cut and contribute more to see that non-sporting staff receive full payment.

By Oladele Emmanuel Abiodun

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000