Hot Post


South Africa Announces Preliminary Squad for COSAFA Cup 2024

Coach Helman Mkhalele has unveiled the 50-man preliminary squad for South Africa's men's national football team, Bafana Bafana, ahead of the upcoming COSAFA Cup. The regional tournament is scheduled to take place from June 26 to July 7, 2024 in South Africa.

Bafana Bafana Preliminary Team for COSAFA Regional Tournament: 


1. Melusi Buthelezi (Orlando Pirates FC)

2. Olwethu Mzimela (AmaZulu FC)

3. Sipho Chaine (Orlando Pirates FC)

4. Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC)


1. Zuko Mdunyelwa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

2. Thabang Matuludi (Polokwane City FC)

3. Thabiso Monyane (Orlando Pirates FC)

4. Sergio Kammies (Chippa United FC)

5. Dean van Rooyen (Stellenbosch FC)

6. Khulekani Shezi (Royal AM FC)

7. Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City FC)

8. Thabo Maloisane (Stellenbosch FC)

9. Macbeth Mahlangu (TS Galaxy FC)

10. Simphiwe Mcineka (Richards Bay FC)

11. Keegan Allan (SuperSport United FC)

12. Rushwin Dortley (Cape Town Spurs FC)

13. Thabiso Sesane (Orlando Pirates FC)

14. Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC)

15. Bradley Cross (Golden Arrows FC)

16. Samukelo Kabini (TS Galaxy FC)


1. Bilal Baloyi (SuperSport United FC)

2. Malebogo Modise (Chippa United FC)

3. Fawaaz Basadien (Stellenbosch FC)

4. Talent Mbatha (Orlando Pirates FC)

5. Liam Bern (Cape Town Spurs FC)

6. Brooklyn Poggenpoel (Stellenbosch FC)

7. Sipheshile Mkhize (Sekhukhune United FC)

8. Samkelo Zwane (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

9. Chumani Butsaka (Cape Town Spurs FC)

10. Antoni van Wyk (Stellenbosch FC)

11. Mduduzi Shabalala (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

12. Oswin Appollis (TS Galaxy FC)

13. Sphamandla Gumede (Cape Town Spurs FC)

14. Siphesihle Maduna (AmaZulu FC)

15. Ethan Brooks (AmaZulu FC)

16. Rowan Human (AmaZulu FC)

17. Relebogile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates FC)


1. Devon Titus (Stellenbosch FC)

2. Mokibelo Rambau (Polokwane City FC)

3. Kamogelo Selebebele (TS Galaxy FC)

4. Siyabonga Mabena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

5. Asanele Velebayi (Cape Town Spurs FC)

6. Lesiba Nku (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

7. Tshegofatso Campbell (SuperSport United FC)

8. Miguel Capela (SuperSport United FC)

9. Mthokozisi Thiki (Royal AM FC)

10. Ashley Cupido (Cape Town Spurs FC)

11. Lehlohonolo Mojela (TS Galaxy FC)

12. Yonela Mbuthuma (Richards Bay FC)

13. Lungelo Nguse (Golden Arrows FC)

The announcement of the preliminary squad marks a significant step in preparations for the prestigious tournament, where South Africa will look to showcase their talent and compete against other nations in the Southern African region.

Coach Mkhalele expressed confidence in the selected players, emphasizing their skills and readiness to represent the nation on the regional stage. The final squad composition will be confirmed closer to the tournament date, following further assessment.

The COSAFA Cup provides a platform for emerging talents and seasoned professionals alike to shine, contributing to the growth and development of football in Southern Africa.

South Africa, historically one of the dominant forces in the tournament, will aim to add another title to their collection and reaffirm their status as a powerhouse in regional football.

Stay tuned for updates as Bafana Bafana continues its journey towards the COSAFA Cup 2024.

Post a Comment