Header Ads Widget

Update:    Happy New Year!   List of 12 Teams for Morocco 2024 Women's AFCON     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG 2024 AFCON Opening Game: Ivory Coast vs Guinea-Bissau, 13th January 2024 20:00WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

2021 Ballon d'Or: Messi, Lewandowski, Alexia Putellas, Donnarumma, Pedri win in different Categories

By Emmanuel Oladele - The annual Ballon d'Or awards for best players were presented in different categories on Monday.

Argentina and PSG forward Lionel Messi won the 2021 Ballon d'Or as the Best Male Footballer in the World, the Argentine beat Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski to the prestigious award. Messi recent success with Argentina in the Copa America largely contributed to his feat on Monday. The former Barcelona star becomes the first PSG player to win the Ballon d'Or and this is the seventh time the Argentina Captain will be winning the award.

Chelsea star Jorginho came third behind Messi and Lewandowski who came first and second respectively.

Alexia Putellas
On the other hand, Spanish Footballer who plays for Primera Division club, Barcelona Feminin, Alexia Putellas won the Women's Ballon d'Or, the Barcelona Captain was instrumental to her club feat in the Women's Champions League last season.

In other award categories, Robert Lewandoski won the striker of the year; Gianluigi Donnarumma, Yashin Trophy (Best Goalkeeper in the World); Pedri, Kopa Trophy (Best player in the world under the age of 21); while Chelsea won Team of the year following their UEFA Champions League Triumph.

Alexia Putellas and Messi on Monday in the Ballon d'Or Award Ceremony


Lionel Messi: Argentina and PSG - Ballon d'Or (Best Male Player in the World).

Alexia Putellas: Spain and Barcelona Feminini - Women's Ballon d'Or (Best Female Player in the World).

Robert Lewandowski: Poland and Bayern Munich - Striker of the Year.

Pedri: Spain and Barcelona - Kopa Trophy (Best Player in the World under the Age of 21).

Gianluigi Donnarumma: Italy and PSG - Yashin Trophy (Best Goalkeeper in the World).

Chelsea: England - Team of the Year.

Post a Comment