Update:    Happy New Year!   List of 12 Teams for Morocco 2024 Women's AFCON     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG 2024 AFCON Opening Game: Ivory Coast vs Guinea-Bissau, 13th January 2024 20:00WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

Women's Football: Nigeria Might be Overthrown Soon - Onome Ebi

By Ilekhuoba Taiye - Super Falcons defender, Onome Ebi fears Nigeria dominance in Africa Women's Football might become history if the Falcons are indifference about it.

In 2018, the continental giants won her 9th Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) title despite unjust preparations. During the competition, football fans perceived some signs that Nigeria's dominance in Africa might be fading away for the first time in history, Nigeria needed penalties to scale through to the finals and earned her ninth AWCON title.

South Africa came as the most improved and furnished team in the tourney as SAFA (South Africa Football Association) engaged the women football team with COSAFA competitions and top grade friendlies which reformed the team tremendously. It was no surprise when Nigeria lost her first group game against South Africa which ended 1-0. But experience prevailed as Nigeria fought back to win her ninth title.

It is arduous to believe that the West African giants are going to be absent at the Olympics next year after being booted out by Ivory Coast. The Falcons held Ivory Coast to a goalless stalemate in Abidjan, before succumbing to a 1-1 draw in Lagos, to shockingly bow out of the Olympics qualifiers prematurely on away goals.

According to her, if there are decencies in preparation for the West African Power House, their dominance might become a history.

“As we all know, no team is unbeatable these days, it’s not like before when we beat countries 7-0," Onome told Brilla.net.

"It’s really difficult to beat team's 2-0 lately. If we really want to keep our place as the best in Africa, we really have to work for it.

"We have to keep training and playing friendly games to keep that standard, nobody is sleeping, every team is training hard, everybody wants to beat Nigeria and be the best in Africa and if we are not ready, someone else will take the title from us."

Post a Comment