Update:    Happy New Year!   List of 12 Teams for Morocco 2024 Women's AFCON     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG 2024 AFCON Opening Game: Ivory Coast vs Guinea-Bissau, 13th January 2024 20:00WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

History: Nigeria Men's Football Squad to Atlanta 1996 Summer Olympics

One of the Golden moment that will never be forgotten in Nigeria Football is the Atlanta 1996 Olympics Football events where Nigeria won the gold medal. It was a massive moment for Nigeria defeating Argentina by 3-2 to clinch Gold after a emphatic 4-3 triumph over Brazil in Semi-final.

Nigfooty.com present Men's Football Squad that represented Nigeria at the Atlanta 1996 Olympics, they are;

1. Emmanuel Babayaro, GK. 26th December, 1976 (19years), Plateau United, Nigeria.
2. Celestine Babayaro, DF. 29th August, 1978 (17years), Anderlecht, Belgium.
3. Taribo West, DF. 26th March, 1974 (22years), Auxerre, France.
4. Nwankwo Kanu, FW. 1st August, 1976 (19years), Ajax, Netherlands.
5. Uche Okechukwu, DF. 27th September, 1967 (28years), Fenerbahce, Turkey.
6. Emmanuel Amuneke, MF. 25th December, 1970 (25years), Sporting Lisbon Portugal.
7. Tijani Babangida, MF. 25th December, 1973 (22years), Roda, Netherlands.
8. Wilson Oruma, MF. 30th December, 1976 (19years), Lens, France.
9. Teslim Fatusi, MF. 17th September, 1977 (18years), Ferencváros, Hungary.
10. Jay-Jay Okocha, MF. 14th August, 1973 (22years), Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany.
11. Victor Ikpeba, FW. 12th June, 1973 (23years), AS. Monaco, France.
12. Abiodun Obafemi, DF. 25th December, 1973 (22years), Toulouse, France.
13. Garba Lawal, FW. 22nd May, 1974 (22years), Esperance, Tunisia.
14. Daniel Amokachi, FW. 30th December, 1972 (23years), Everton, England.
15. Sunday Oliseh, MF. 1st September, 1974 (21years), FC Kölñ, Germany.
16. Kingsley Obiekwu, DF. 12th November, 1974 (21years), Go Ahead Eagles, Netherlands.
17. Mobi Oparaku, DF. 1st December, 1976 (19years), Anderlecht, Belgium.
18. Dosu Joseph, GK. 19th June, 1977 (19years), Julius Berger, Nigeria.


The team are one of the best Nigeria have ever produced, the unity, love, harmony, talents and others make them unique among other teams that Nigeria have ever taken to a major tournament.

By Oladele Emmanuel Abiodun

Post a Comment