Hot Post


Algeria 0-1 Zambia: Daka Bullet Struck Algeria

Zambia kept alive their hopes of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup finals in Russia after they defeated Algeria 1-0 in their Group B qualifier played at the Chahid Mohamed Hamlaoui Stadium in Constantine on Tuesday.

The victory, their second in four days over the Desert Foxes, took Wedson Nyirenda’s side to seven points – three behind leaders Nigeria – while Algeria, on a single point from four matches can no longer qualify.

Click to take part in our Survey and send us your Feedback.

Cameroon, the other team in Group B, are in third position with three points.

The result means their match with Nigeria in Uyo on 7 October will be decisive. A win for Zambia in that match will move them level with their hosts while victory for Nigeria will ensure they qualify. Patson Daka scored the lone goal of the match in Constantine on 66 minutes after he picked a loose ball at the top of the box to beat substitute goalkeeper Abdelkadir Salhi, who had replaced Rais M’bolhi in the first half.

Algeria were perhaps unlucky not to score when they were awarded a penalty but Kennedy Mweene who rolled back the years on the day made a brilliant save to deny Riyad Mahrez in the fifteenth minute.

Zambia’s next game in the world cup qualification is an away match against Nigeria on 7th October before winding up the group matches in Lusaka against Cameroon on 6th November.

Team Lists

Algeria: 23 Rais M’bolhi (Abdelkadir Salhi 21’) 4 Youcef Attal (Adam Ounas 50’) 3 Faouzi Ghoulam 2 Aissa Mandi 21 Rami Bensebaini 8 Saphir Taider 14 Raouf Benguit 10 Nabir Bentaleb 7 Riyad Mahrez 11 Yacine Brahimi 15 Hillal Soudani

Substitutes: 1 Abdelkadir Salhi 6 Brahim Boudebouda 12 Carl Medjani 16 Mehdi Jeannin 17 Adlane Guedioura 13 Islam Slimani 9 Sofiane Hanni 5 Illas Hassani

Zambia: 16 Kennedy Mweene 6 Simon Silwimba 20 Fackson Kapumbu 19 Ziyo Tembo 13 Stopilla Sunzu 23 Kondwani Mtonga 17 Augustine Mulenga 14 Enock Mwepu 12 Justin Shonga (Alex Ng’onga 60’) 10 Patson Daka (Donashano Malama) 2 Ernest Mbewe (Emmanuel Banda 90’)

Substitutes: 1 Toaster Nsabata 5 Rodric Kabwe 4 Adrian Chama 21 Isaac Shamujompa 15 Donasahano Malama 11 Chisamaba Lungu

Post a Comment