Update: :     FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG  Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup Opening Game: Qatar vs Ecuador, Sunday 20th Nov. @ 17:00 WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

Atlanta 96: Names and Clubs of all 18 Players that Represented Nigeria

By Emmanuel Oladele - The Nigerian U23 National Men's Team won the 1996 Olympics Men's Football Tournament in Atlanta. The Green Eagles with some notable names like; Nwankwo Kanu, Jay Jay Okocha, Victor Ikpeba and others ruled their world by conquering Brazil in the Semi-final with golden goal rule and beating Argentina in the final. See the name of all 18 players that participated in the Tournament below;

1. Emmanuel Babayaro, GK. 26th December, 1976 (19years), Plateau United, Nigeria.
2. Celestine Babayaro, DF. 29th August, 1978 (17years), Anderlecht, Belgium.
3. Taribo West, DF. 26th March, 1974 (22years), Auxerre, France.
4. Nwankwo Kanu, FW. 1st August, 1976 (19years), Ajax, Netherlands.
5. Uche Okechukwu, DF. 27th September, 1967 (28years), Fenerbahce, Turkey.
6. Emmanuel Amuneke, MF. 25th December, 1970 (25years), Sporting Lisbon Portugal.
7. Tijani Babangida, MF. 25th December, 1973 (22years), Roda, Netherlands.
8. Wilson Oruma, MF. 30th December, 1976 (19years), Lens, France.
9. Teslim Fatusi, MF. 17th September, 1977 (18years), Ferencváros, Hungary.
10. Jay-Jay Okocha, MF. 14th August, 1973 (22years), Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany.
11. Victor Ikpeba, FW. 12th June, 1973 (23years), AS. Monaco, France.
12. Abiodun Obafemi, DF. 25th December, 1973 (22years), Toulouse, France.
13. Garba Lawal, FW. 22nd May, 1974 (22years), Esperance, Tunisia.
14. Daniel Amokachi, FW. 30th December, 1972 (23years), Everton, England.
15. Sunday Oliseh, MF. 1st September, 1974 (21years), FC Kölñ, Germany.
16. Kingsley Obiekwu, DF. 12th November, 1974 (21years), Go Ahead Eagles, Netherlands.
17. Mobi Oparaku, DF. 1st December, 1976 (19years), Anderlecht, Belgium.
18. Dosu Joseph, GK. 19th June, 1977 (19years), Julius Berger, Nigeria.

It was Nigeria First time to win the Olympic Football Gold.

Post a Comment