Hot Post


Pre-season Friendly: Babatunde Hakeem fires MAO FC back to winning ways

MAO Football Club of Osogbo defeated Iwo United On Friday in a pre-season friendly, the game ended 3-2 in favour of the host. Thanks to Babatunde Hakeem added time spot kick that fired MAO back to winning ways, following their 3-2 loss to Alabelewe FC in the midweek.
Iwo United capitalised on defensive blunder from MAO Football Club centre-back Abdul Lateef Ridwan to get an early lead 20 minutes into the first half, but Lawrence Moses restored parity to MAO FC via a world class free-kick before the end of the half.

In the early minutes of second half, the host dominated possession as they continue to mount pressure on the visitors defence, a one-two ball by Wariz and Fakayode found positioned Adedayo Emmanuel who successfully sent the ball to the back of the net.

Few minutes later, a fine run by Olawuyi Taiwo should have doubled the lead for the host, but Azeez Kareem with a poor finish.
Iwo United got the equaliser in the added minutes from a counter attack to take the scoreline to 2-2. Still in the added time, a foul on Babatunde Hakeem in the visitors 18-yard-box earned the Horlawale Horladosu led side a spot kick, a well taken penalty by Babatunde Hakeem fired MAO Football Club back to winning ways after Wednesday loss to Alabelewe FC.

MAO FC will now resume training on Monday morning as they prepare for the State Challenge Cup and Nationwide League which commence soon.

After the entire game duration, it MAO FC 3-2 Iwo United, so ended ended at the Osogbo High School Sports Complex.

By Bashiru Ibrahim O.

Post a Comment