About Me

Update:    Welcome to Nigfooty Sport!   List of 12 Teams for Morocco 2024 Women's AFCON     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG World Cup Qualifiers: Nigeria vs South Africa, 7th June 2024 20:00WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

NPFL: El-Kanemi stun Akwa United, Enyimba, Kano Pillars, Nasarawa United off to winning starts

The Nigeria Professional Football League finally get underway after months of break. The League resumes with a lot of excitements as El-Kanemi Warriors stunned Akwa United at home with a 1-0 win, Ba'akaka Azikoro 90'+4 strike made the difference in the added time of the encounter at the Akwa Ibom Stadium. No thanks to Akwa United Goalkeeper Ojo Olorunleke who committed the blunder that led to Akwa United defeat.
Peoples Elephants also defeated MFM FC of Lagos by 2-0 to kick start their 2018/2019 league season with a win, goals from Nelson Ogbonnaya and Abdulrahman in the 13th and 54th minute respectively gave the Aba based team a well deserved victory at the Enyimba International Stadium in Aba.

Kano Pillars in another game defeated Heartland by 1-0, thanks to a 16th minute strike from Chinedu Sunday that made the difference.

Nasarawa United in Lafia also kick start their 2018/2019 league season with a victory over visiting Abia Warriors. Abdullahi Abubakar lone strike in the 20th minute of the encounter gave the Lafia side the first victory in their first game of the season
Kwara United and Sunshine Stars played a 1-1 draw in Ilorin, goal from Franklin Sasere put the visitors ahead in the 41st minute of the first half, but a own goal from Sunshine Seun Olulayo in the 70th minute of the encounter denied Sunshine Stars the victory at Ilorin.

Youthful FC Ifeanyi Ubah played a 0-0 draw with Plateau United in Jos.



Other matches have been postponed to enable the newly promoted teams have adequate preparation.

By Oladele Emmanuel Abidoun

Post a Comment