About Me

Update:    Welcome to Nigfooty Sport!   List of 12 Teams for Morocco 2024 Women's AFCON     Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG   Nigeria Football and Other Sports: Live BLOG World Cup Qualifiers: Nigeria vs South Africa, 7th June 2024 20:00WAT.      • Welcome to Nigeria Football and Others Media (Nigfooty Sports), the Home of Global Sport.     ☎️ To contact us, call, +2349074986288 - Nigeria Football and Others Media

No Mikel again as Rohr calls Success, Musa, Iwobi, 21 Others to face Libya

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr on Nigeria 58th Independence Day Celebration released the list of 24 Eagles that will face Libya in the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier double headers. 

Notable omissions in the list are John Mikel Obi the captain of the side, Benfica defender Tyronne Ebuehi who is recovering from an injury he sustained weeks ago. Also missing on the list is Italian Seria B star playing for Crotone FC Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo and fellow Italian based midfielder Joel Obi.
Top on the list is Alex Iwobi who made his return after missing the last game against Seychelles due to illness, in-form Watford Striker Isaac Success, Ahmed Musa, Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho, William Ekong and the big one is Moses Simon making his return to the team after missing the World Cup due to injury.

Below is the full team list has released by Rohr;
GOALKEEPERS: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC, Nigeria); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).

DEFENDERS: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idown (Locomotive Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany).

MIDFIELDERS: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er  Sheva, Israel).

FORWARDS: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England).

The major talking point is the exclusion of Theofilus Afelokhai. The Enyimba first choice goalkeeper has being the talk of the moment in recent time after putting up a great performance in the CAF Confederation Cup, but has been omitted again by coach Gernot Rohr to pick Enyimba second choice goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa who is also the only home-based player invited to face Libya in both legs.

The first leg will be played on Saturday October 13, 2018 at Akwa Ibom Stadium in Uyo, Nigeria, while the return leg will be played on Tuesday 16th of October in Tunisia.

Post a Comment