Hot Post


World Cup Preview: Argentina National Team, World Cup Guide, Previous Record and Others- By Ayodeji Bankole

Argentina national team popularly know as the Albiceleste originated from a country of around 43.85million people in the South American region of the world.

Their first ever official match was played on may 16th May, 1901 against Uruguay. Argentina made their first World Cup appearance in 1930 and has gone on to make 14 appearances in the World Cup between 1930-2014.

The Albiceleste has won the world cup on two occasions in 197 and 1986 they were also runner up in three different occasion 1930, 1990 and 2014.

Argentina who suffered a final defeat 4 years ago had a nervy qualifying series but later qualified for the world cup after they came third in the south American qualifying group games

The South American side will be making their 15th appearance at the World Cup in Russia are they are pitted in group D alongside Nigeria, Croatia and Iceland.
The Jorge Sampaoli led team are playing in a attacking 4-3-3 formation and with a host of players probably representing their country for the last time in a major tournament they  will be hoping to go one better than they did four years ago.

Most Capped Player: Javier Zanetti (143 caps)
Highest Goal Scorer: Lionel Messi (61 goals)
Captain: Lionel Messi
Coach: Jorge Sampaoli
FIFA Ranking: 4th
Starman: Lionel Messi
Player to Watch: Paulo Dybala


Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Manchester United), Wilfredo Caballero (Chelsea), Franco Armani (River Plate).

Defenders: Gabriel Mercado (Sevilla), Javier Mascherano (Hebei China Fortune), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Federica Fazio (Roma), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax), Marcos Acuna (Sporting CP), Cristian Ansaldi (Torino).

Midfielders: Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Maximiliano Meza (Indepeniente), Lucas Biglia (Milan), Ever Banega (Sevilla), Giovani Lo Celso (Paris Saint-Germain), Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Cristian Pavon (Boca Juniors)Eduardo Salvio (Benfica).

Forwards: Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus).

Post a Comment