Hot Post


World Cup Preview: Spanish National Team - By Ayodeji Bankole

The Spanish National Team popularly known as the LA ROJA (the Red One) became an official FIFA member in the year 1904 and they established the Spanish Football Federation in the year 1909.

Spain National Team waited until 1920 before they made any Official Football debut and also waited until 1934 before making there first World Cup appearance and has since gone to appear in 14 different world cup between 1934-2014, their best performance in the world cup history was in the 2010 edition when they won their first World Cup after they defeated Holland by a lone goal scored by Andreas Iniesta in the final to secure the trophy.

The tiki taka king who are presently ranked 8th in the world will be making their 15th appearance in the world cup in Russia.

The coach Julen Lopetegui led team qualified as group topper for the global showpiece with 28points from all qualifying matches in a group G that consists teams like Italy, Albania, Israel, Macedonia and Liechestien.

Spain are pitted in Group B alongside Iran, Morocco and Euro 2016 Champions Portugal for the Russia 2018 World Cup.

Coach Lopetegui has made official  his final 23man list for the World Cup leaving out Alvaro Morata, Cech Fabregas, Marcos Alonso and even highly rated Hector Bellerin.


GOALKEEPERS: David De Gea (Manchester
United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic

DEFENDERS: Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid) Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad).

MIDFIELDER: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) Saúl Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Isco (Real Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid).

FORWARD: Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Rodrigo
(Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletic Madrid).

Post a Comment