CHAN : Congo Pip Lackluster Indomitable Lions

Congo have taken an early lead in Group D of the 2018 African Nations Championship following a 1-0 upset of Cameroon in Tuesday's matchday one action.

With Angola and Burkina Faso playing out a pulsating goalless draw in the other group game, the Red Devils are confirmed to remain in the driving seat, at least until Saturday. It was largely a balanced game at Stade Adrar in Agadir as neither Cameroon - led by the legendary Rigobert Song - nor Congo showed a sign of dominance.

And after both sides missed first half opportunities to take the lead, the decisive moment of the game came in the 70th minute. Cesair Sidney Gandze picked out Vieljeux Prestige Mboungou with a neatly-weighted dink, and well through on goal, the Diables Rouges forward looked set to strike the opener until he was brought down by the onrushing goalkeeper Jean Gwot Kalati. A penalty was inevitably awarded.

Junior Makiesse Mouzita stepped up and coolly sent Kalati the wrong way to put the Red Devils 1-0 up.

The Indomitable Lions subsequently mounted a late challenge to draw level but substitute Bitang Clarence Junior saw his free-kick saved, while Paul Abouem Maya effort's from six yards harmlessly flew over the bar.

In the first match of the day, a wasteful Angola side were held to a goalless draw by Burkina Faso.

The Palancas Negras spurned a flurry of chances to claim three points, with Afonso Fofo the main culprit.
The two sides, thus, picked a point each ahead of Saturday's round of games.

On matchday two, Cameroon will square off against Angola, while Congo take on Burkina Faso.

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000