CHAN : Congo Joyfully Override Stallions to Progress into Last Eight

Second half goals from defender Carof Bakoua and substitute Kader Bidimbou inspired Congo to a 2-0 win over Burkina Faso on Saturday in Agadir and confirm their place at the knockout stage.

The duo scored in the second half following a frantic first period which was characterized by counter attacks with little goal scoring chances.
The Stallions of Burkina Faso threatened Congo which a quick interchange of passes on the right where Mohamed Sylla's delivery was met by Yaya Sanou's downward head at the far which goalkeeper Barel Mouko parried away after three minutes.

Moussa Sory skipped away from a couple of challenges to find Junior Nathanio who had his back to goal turning his marker inside out but his curler forced a save from Congo shot stopper, Barel Mouko.

'Les Diables Rouges' as the Congolese are nicknamed started the second half much the better side and on 52 minutes Jaures Ngombe forced his way on the left only to blast his shot over the bar.

Mouko came to Congo's rescue four minutes later racing off his line to block striker Romeo Boni's close range effort.

Congo broke the deadlock on 67 minutes through Bakoua who fired home from close after Abdoulaye Sawadogo had spilled Varel Rozan's free kick on his path.

Sawadogo was again forced off his line ten minutes from time to clear Makiesse's effort and making himself big in front of Junior Loussouko who shot straight at him.

Bidimbou was not to be denied two minutes into added time heading past Sawadogo from Makiesse's cross from the right to secure Congo a place in the quarter finals.

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000