Akwa United Kept Promise as they beat Niger Tornadoes on penalties to win Aiteo Cup

Akwa United are the new Aiteo Cup Champions for the year 2017 by beating Niger Tornadoes on penalties in the Business Capital of Nigeria on Sunday.

Akwa United conquered the opposition from Niger state on penalties after a fruitless regulation time of football at the Soccer Temple, Agege Lagos.
The final of the formerly known Federation Cup was unexpectedly held inside the Agege Stadium which is a 5,000 seater instead of the much fancied regular Teslim Balogun stadium in Surulere.

After a goalless 90 minutes,it was down to lotteries from the spot and after six kicks each, the promise keepers were triumphant winning 3-2.

Akwa United will now represent Nigeria in the Caf Confederations Cup next season.

NIGER TORNADOES XI: Aliko Ikefe, Akinmoladun, Ogbonnaya, Isah, Zango, Wakili, Adeyemo, Ammeh, Babawo, Rabiu.

Akwa United are smiling home with 25 million naira while Niger Tornadoes were compensated with 10 million naira.

AKWA UNITED FC X : Ojo, Effiong, Dadzie, Azeez, Igudia, Ariwachukwu, Ubong, Newman, Pyagbara, Olisemah, Ifeanyi.

TOP SCORER: Christian Pyagbara (7 goals).

BEST GOALKEEPER: Olorunleke Ojo.

AITEO CUP 2017 MVP: Olorunleke Ojo.

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000