Hot Post


Plateau United is NPFL Champion

Plateau United of Jos were today Saturday 9th of September, 2017 crowned the Champion of the Nigeria Professional Football League for the 2016/2017 season.

A 2-0 victory over visiting Rangers of Enugu was enough to give Plateau United all three points needed to clinch the 2016/2017 NPFL title.
Emeka Umeh opened scoring for Plateau United in the 25th minute to give United the lead, thanks to an assist from Kabiru Umar.

In the 88th minute it was Plateau United grabbing the second goal with Benjamin Turba great strike.

On the other hand, MFM FC of Lagos hope to lift the NPFL trophy was shattered by El-kanemi Warriors as they lost 2-1 in Maiduguri.

After the final day matches played across Nigeria, Plateau United occupies first position, MFM FC and Enyimba International placed 2nd and 3rd respectively. Plateau United and MFM FC will represent Nigeria in the next CAF Champions League while  Enyimba will represent Nigeria in the CAF Confederations Cup.

The case of Shooting Stars FC, ABS FC, Gombe United FC and Remo Stars FC were different as they were all relegated to the Nigeria National League.


⇒Enyimba 1-0 Katsina United FT.

⇒Plateau United 2-0 Rangers FT.

⇒Gombe United 0-1 Wikki Tourists FT.

⇒Abia Warriors 4-1 Rivers United FT.

⇒Nasarawa United 2-1 ABS FC FT.

⇒El-Kanemi Warriors 2-1 MFM FC FT.

⇒Akwa United 3-0 Kano Pillars FC FT.

⇒Niger Tornadoes 2-0 Shooting Stars FT.

⇒FC Ifeanyiubah 1-1 Lobi Stars FC FT.

⇒Remo Stars FC 0-1 Sunshine Stars FC FT.

Photo Credit: LMC

Post a Comment