Leicester City Attacking Shapes With Iheanacho

After completing a £25 million move from Manchester City, We have to look at different ways Leicester City will utilize the potential in the young Nigerian.
The Foxes relied on counter-attacking football during their Premier League winning season in a 4-4-2 set-up.
With only N'Golo Kante gone and Riyad Mahrez set to follow, Leicester will likely change to 4-2-3-1 meaning:

The defensive partnership of Huth, Morgan, Fuchs and Simpson has become slow but the acquisitions of Chilwell and Maguire is good business while Benalouane, Amartey are alternatives.

Drinkwater is the midfield general alongside Nigerian enforcer Onyinye Wilfred Ndidi while Matty James, Vicente Iborra and Nampalys Mendy add depths not to forget Ever Committed Andy King.

The main focus is the frontline with Marc Albrighton and Jamie Vardy seems indispensable on the right wing and forward line respectively, two positions is giving manager Craig Shakespeare headache as the season kick-off today.

Algerian winger, Riyad Mahrez status might change the team set-up but the major weakness appears to be Japanese workhorse Shinji Okazaki.
First formation will have Iheanacho behind the pacy Jamie Vardy flanked by Albrighton and Mahrez in a 4-2-3-1 formation.
Selling Mahrez might make Iheanacho to play on the right wing as he's left-footed like the Algerian thereby accommodating Okazaki in his favourite position behind Vardy.
An injury to Vardy could see injury prone Islam Slimani starting up top with Kelechi in the traditional 4-4-2 especially in home games.
An injury crisis could arise or Cup Matches which might require Ahmed Musa who's also a target for few clubs with highly rated starlet Demarai Gray to both start on the wings and Iheanacho playing as the Fox upfront.

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000