Hot Post


Germany Are Champion of Champions

Germany were crowned 2017 Fifa Confederations Cup champions after a hard-fought 1-0 final victory over Chile in Saint Petersburg on Sunday.
It was all Chile in the opening stages as the South American champions laid siege on the German goal, Arturo Vidal producing a fine save from Barcelona's Andre Ter Stegen just five minutes in as Eduardo Vargas and Vidal once more tried their luck, but to no avail. Vidal once again stung the palms of Ter Stegen 20 minutes in, yet Alexis Sanchez was unable to capitalise on the rebound.
Just seconds later, against the run of play, Germany went ahead following a horrendous error by Chile’s Marcelo Diaz who was caught in possession at the edge of his own box, as Timo Werner squared the ball for teammate Lars Stindl to tap home for his third goal of the tournament.

The Germans then spurned three glorious chances to go further ahead in the half, Leon Goretzka pulling his shot wide from a tight angle before Julian Draxler’s effort narrowly missed the target.

Claudio Bravo was then called into action to deny Goretzka at his near post to keep his side in the game at the break as they headed into the tunnel 1-0 down.

The second stanza was a fiery affair with action on both sides of the pitch, Draxler coming close on 55 minutes while the Germans prevented Sanchez from getting away his effort at the other end.

Tempers flared as Vidal and Joshua Kimmich tussled and were both booked as the match continued to heat up as Chile became increasingly frustrated the longer the game wore on.
Ter Stegen had to be at his best midway through the half as he was kept busy with efforts from Vargas, Vidal and Charles Aranguiz, yet none were able to beat the Spanish-based gloveman.

Anyelo Sagal missed a golden chance with the goal at his mercy late on, before Ter Stegen beat away Sanchez’s stoppage time free-kick, summing up Chile’s night as they failed time and time against to break down the German defence.

At the final whistle, it was the reigning World Champions who lifted their arms in celebration, winning a maiden Fifa Confederations Cup crown and becoming the first Mundial holders to win the competition since Brazil’s 2005 feat.

Adidas Golden Ball: Julian Draxler(Germany)
Adidas Golden Boot: Timo Werner(Germany)
Adidas Golden Glove: Claudio Bravo(Chile)


Post a Comment