Mikel and Iheanacho Out of Race For Caf Award

Super Eagles Captain Mikel John Obi,Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City and Leicester City Speedster,Ahmed Musa didn't make the final five of 2016 Caf Player of the Year Award which is not Surprising considering that Super Eagles are not going to participate in Gabon 2017 after the failure to Qualify.

Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani made the list along with Sadio Mane,Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and Roma/Egyptian International Mohamed Salah.
Meanwhile,Khama Billiat and three more Mamelodi Sundowns players have been nominated for the CAF African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award following their Champions League triumph.
Playmaker Keagan Dolly, dynamic midfielder Hlompho Kekana and Ugandan goalkeeper Denis Onyango have also been named on the five-man shortlist for their excellent performances en route to Sundowns' African glory.
In addition to his continental achievements, Zimbabwean forward Billiat was also head and shoulders the best player in the PSL last season, winning the PSL Footballer of the Season.

A statement by CAF reads:
'The top five was decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical & Development Committee and half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons).

'For the final phase, votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF plus Associate Members, Reunion Island and Zanzibar, together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons) will be counted towards the determination of the eventual winners.
'The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala sponsored by telecommunication giants, Globacom, will be held on Thursday, 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Photo Credit : cafonline

Post a comment



 1.Abia Warriors00000000
 2.Adamawa Utd.00000000
 3.Akwa United00000000
 4.Dakkada FC00000000
 5.Enyimba Int'l00000000
 6.FC Ifeanyi Ubah00000000
 7.Heartland FC00000000
 8.Jigawa GS00000000
 9.Kano Pillars00000000
 10.Katsina United00000000
 11.Kwara United00000000
 12.Lobi Stars00000000
 13.MFM FC00000000
 14.Nasarawa Utd.00000000
 15.Plateau United00000000
 16.Rangers Int'l00000000
 17.Rivers United00000000
 18.Sunshine Stars00000000
 19.Warri Wolves00000000
 20.Wikki Tourists00000000